Posted in Uncategorized

La Vie de Bohème

free spirit2 “I used to think I was the strangest person in the world, but then I thought there are so many people in the world, there must be someone just like me who feels bizarre and flawed in the same ways I do. I would imagine her, and imagine that she must be out there thinking of me too. Well, I hope that if you are out there and read this and know that, yes, it’s true I’m here, and I’m just as strange as you.” ~ Frida Kahlo

This has really resonated with me and rang incredibly true to my heart.

I’ve always been a wanderer, a free spirited girl prancing to the beat of her drum. As I continue to make my forays into the world “out there”, I felt like an outsider silently gazing in. People often say that they don’t “get” me. They have always tried to define me and put me in a safe box that they could label and understand. I am the quiet, dorky girl who spends her time in bookstores and cafes. I am the weirdo who zones out when she paints. I am the girl whose thinking is not a straight line, but rather a labyrinth that she is trying to navigate. I am the flower child who couldn’t care less what others thought about how she live her life.

I believe that people should not be confined in a box. We don’t come in a package with instruction manuals.

We may not always be understood and may not always be accepted, but we should be free on who we choose to be.  Instead of falling into the trap of molding ourselves to some predefined role, I hope we all feel free to soar with our wings fully spanned, feeling the gust of wind in our bare skin. To plunge with passion into the unknown and hear the music of our souls. Free to waltz in the verdant fields and feel the dews beneath our toes. Free to wander in silver streams with stardust in our wispy hair.

So here’s to us my kindred spirit. I hope you find comfort in the midst of your transformation. I hope you glide to your own melody in search of a song. I hope you get wonderfully lost in your adventures. I hope you sprinkle glitters wherever you go.Let them hear your sylphlike roar.

free spirit 3

Author:

Free spirited Wanderer and Pursuer of Dreams.

Leave a Reply

